Adaptation Spotlight|Netflix Buys Millarworld & New Hunger Games/Twilight?

Happy Friday everyone! You don’t understand how much I’ve been looking forward to this weekend. It’s been a rough week and I’m so looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow.

If you’re new here, Adaptation Spotlight is a feature on Book to the Becky where I talk about recent adaptation news that I think is interesting.

The theme for this week is franchises. We got some pretty interesting news involving a few different franchises, and I’m really excited to talk to you guys about it. So we’re just gonna dive right in.

Netflix Acquires Millarworld

We’re going to start with news that may seem small now, but will have a big impact on a popular streaming service you may have heard of.

So, Netflix has just acquired Millarworld. What is Millarworld and why is it relevant? Basically, it is a comic-book publishing firm founded by Mark Millar. You’ve probably heard of two of their franchises, Kick-Ass and Kingsman: The Secret Service.

I have never read the comics, but I loved both of the film adaptations. The sequel to Kingsman: The Secret Service is actually coming out later this year and is one of my most anticipated films of the year. If you have not seen Kingsman or Kick-Ass you should go watch them, they are both excellent.

On the surface, this news does not seem like a big deal, but it is. Netflix is losing it’s contract to Disney, because Disney is creating their own streaming service. While it looks like Netflix might keep the rights to Marvel and Star Wars, it will take a hit and lose a ton of content. By acquiring Millarworld, Netflix will have a ton of material to work with and be able to create more of it’s own content.

This is the third time a comic book company has been purchased like this. Warner Bros. bought DC Comics and Disney bought Marvel. Those acquisitions worked out for both companies, and this could result in a huge payoff for Netflix.

I don’t know much about Millarworld’s comics. In fact, reading about this news definitely was the first time I realized it was a thing. I say again I loved Kick-Ass and Kingsman though, so I would love to see more adaptations from this company. I think Netflix could create some really awesome content and I’m interested to see what comes of this deal.

New Hunger Games and Twilight?

Alright, so this news came completely out of left field and I’m still not sure how I feel about it. Apparently, the CEO of Lionsgate, Jon Feltheimer, wants to add to both the Hunger Games and Twilight franchise! Excuse me–what?!

He does not want to remake either of these series, but rather add to the franchise with spin-offs and new installments to the story line. Personally, I’m glad to hear that they’re not planning on remaking these films, because I’m not a big fan of remakes and it’s too soon. I don’t really know if I’d want a film that directly follows the conclusion to either sereies.

It’s been so long since I read or watched anything in the Twilight series. I can’t be the only person who feels this way, so adding the next chapter of Bella and Edward’s life may be difficult to sell. As for the Hunger Games, I thought that the conclusion felt like a conclusion. Seeing what happens next to Katniss may tarnish the series.

However, I would totally be into some spin-offs. For example, I would love to see how the first Hunger Games came to be and what that entailed. It might be cool to see what happens to Panem following the events in Mockingjay, but I would like it to follow new characters. Some Twilight spin-offs would be interesting too. I don’t know what they would look like, but I’d be totally willing to hear some ideas.

It’s like Lionsgate is seeing all the success that came from Fantastic Beasts and is looking to hop on that band wagon. Apparently, they are waiting to get approval from Stephanie Meyer and Suzanne Collins before any next steps can be taken. I am extremely interested to see what comes from this. It could be good or it could be bad, we’ll just have to wait and see.


Some other small bits of news that you may be interested in. My man Nick Jonas was cast in Chaos Walking, which is the film adaptation of Patrick Ness’s The Knife of Never Letting Go set to be released in 2019. Also, Thirteen Reasons Why casted a bunch of new people for it’s second season. The TV adaptation of Stephen King’s novel Mr. Mercedes of the same title, premiered this past Wednesday on Audience Network. King is having good year in terms of adaptations. We’re getting so many film and tv adaptations of his work this year.

That’s all of the news I have for you this week. Let me know down below what you’re most excited for. How do you feel about having more films in the Hunger Games and Twilight Series? What would want you Lionsgate to make, if they actually make a new film in either one of these franchises? I’d love to hear your thoughts. Also, let me know if I missed anything this week. 

Leave a Reply

