Adaptation Spotlight|The Hate U Give & The Dark Tower

Hey guys! Welcome back to Adaptation Spotlight, where I tell you about some adaptation news that I think is interesting.

I don’t know about you, but I’m so happy that it’s Friday. This week has been brutal and I’m glad that the weekend is finally here. I’m also excited to talk about what’s going on this week in the world of adaptations. Let’s jump right into it.


 

The Hate U Give Casting

First things first, we’ve got to talk about casting news for The Hate U Give. If you are unaware, this YA novel about the Black Lives Matter movement is being made into a film. What’s crazy is that the film rights were acquired in 2016 by Fox 2000. Amandla Stenberg was also cast as Starr and George Tillman Jr. was slated to direct last year, way before THUG was released.

Why this is relevant now? This week we were blessed with some more casting news. Russell Hornsby was cast as Maverick, Regina Hall as Lisa, and Lamar Johnson as Seven! It’s really exciting to see that things are moving with this film adaptation. The book has made such an impact, and I think that the film will make one. Angie Thomas, the author, said that she has been involved in the process which is nice to hear. I think that to have an excellent adaptation, the author needs to be involved in some way.

Casting for Sekani, Starr’s younger brother, has not yet been revealed. I hope that he was not cut from the film, because I thought it was interesting to see him go through a loss of innocence in the book.  A release date has also not been announced yet. I’m hoping for sometime in 2018, because I need this film!

Maybe Skip The Dark Tower This Weekend?

the dark tower.jpg

The Dark Tower, the adaptation of Stephen King’s fantasy series of the same title, was released in theaters today. While the trailer was definitely confusing, I thought that Idris Elba looked cool. However, the critics hate it! It’s got a whopping 18% on Rotten Tomatoes, which is pretty bad. On top of that, I’ve heard that it’s not very true to the book. It seems that there was a lot of competing ideas in the production and post production of this film, and it suffered because of it.

I’m curious to see how it does at the box office, because a lot is riding on it’s success. Stephen King is already planning for a sequel, and has come out saying that he wants to bump the sequel up to an R rating. There is also talk of a prequel TV series in development through Media Rights Capital and Sony Pictures Television. Glenn Mazzara (The Walking Dead) has recently been announced to be the show-runner for the show. If the film tanks, these installments are definitely screwed.


That’s all of the news I have for you this week. I personally don’t think I am going to see The Dark Tower. It’s just not worth my money and I still need to see Dunkirk desperately!

As always I would love to hear your thoughts on these adaptations! What do you think of the casting for The Hate U Give? Are you planning on seeing The Dark Tower? Do you think the film looks good or just as bad as the critics are saying? Did I miss anything this week? Let me know down in the comment section below.

 

Leave a Reply

