July Wrap-Up

I was not expecting July to be as busy as it was. Every weekend I had something going on and I felt like I was running all over the place. I mean don’t get me wrong these were fun things. I went away two weekends, had two shows, and saw a concert. I just didn’t have a whole lot of time to do much else.

While my writing severely suffered from this, my reading wasn’t so bad. I ended up finishing 4 books, and one of them was a massive 725 pages! Sometimes big books can slow me down, but not this month.

Books

1. The Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) — I picked this book up because everyone talks about how great Rick Riordan’s writing is and I wanted to see what he’s all about. His writing is very funny, and I found myself laughing out loud multiple times. I personally enjoyed all of the early 2000 jokes. The characters were also great, along with the world. I found the plot to be extremely repetitive though. I thought some of the problems our heroes faced were unnecessary, and it felt like they were on a constant string of bad luck. That being said, I enjoyed it enough to want to continue on with the series. I even bought the next 3 books at my local bookstore for super cheap. This book was not mind-blowing in anyway, just fun. (Rating: 3.5/5 Stars)

2. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (Three Dark Crowns #1) — This book has been on my TBR since I heard that it featured a matriarchal society. I have never read a book like that before, plus it was fantasy which is what I’ve been devouring lately. I didn’t know what to expect going in, but HOLY CRAP! This was incredible. This book featured multiple POVs with an intricate and complex plot. The twists in this book were insane and I did not see some of them coming. There was also an ensemble cast which I was all about. It was just so good you guys, it’s been like a couple of weeks since I read it and I’m still not over it. I’m really glad I read it so close to the release of the second book, because I need it now. I would recommend checking this one out if you’re someone who likes morally grey characters, a cool plot, and fantasy elements. (Rating: 4.5/5 Stars)

3. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (Shades of Magic #1) — This was the Book of the Month for my Book Club. It was my pick, and I couldn’t help but pick this one. I feel like everyone in the book community has read it, and now I’m one of those people. I can see why everyone loves Schwab’s writing style, because it’s so good! I personally loved the way that this book is structured. The chapters are broken up into sub-chapters which was cool and made it a quicker read. The premise was as cool as promised by the description. My favorite part of the book was exploring all of the different Londons (and Rye). It only left me wanting more and I have so many questions that need answered. That being said, I am not as obsessed with it as a lot of people seem to be. It was good, but I was sort of expecting it to be better. I will be continuing on with the series though. I need more. (Rating: 4/5 Stars)

4. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #6) — It’s official, I’ve completed The Mortal Instruments series! I’ve been through some ups and downs while reading this series, but I’m happy to report that the conclusion was amazing and made it all worth it. I really loved this book, and it’s probably my favorite book in The Mortal Instruments series. It just gave me all of the feels, both good and bad. I thought the pacing was good and I loved reading all of the different storylines. I really liked how Clare introduced the main characters for The Dark Artifices series in this book, and made them a big part of the plot. It not only helped the pacing, but got me excited for Lady Midnight. There is not much I can really say without spoiling something. Let’s just say that I laughed, I cried, I was brought to the edge of my seat in suspense, and that there may have been some shouting. It was excellent. (Rating: 5/5 Stars)

Camp NaNoWriMo July Edition

This month I also participated in Camp NaNoWriMo and my god it was such a fail. I think I wrote like 2,000 words total this month. I did not officially total up my final word count, because I was just so embarrassed. My busy schedule and writing slump got the best of me. July just wasn’t the month for writing.

I’m trying not to beat myself up too much over it, because that will only set my writing back even more. All that I can do from this point is just to start writing again. I’m so close to my reevaluating point and I just need to get there as soon as possible. If it takes me another month or two, so be it. If you want to read more about some of my failures, click here.


Those are all of the things I’ve accomplished (or not in the case of Camp) this month. I also should mention that I’ve officially introduced a new feature on my blog called Adaptation Spotlight. Basically, I’ll be highlighting some interesting pieces of news regarding book-to-film and book-to-tv adaptations. If you’re into that sort of thing, check it out.

Even though I think I could have been more productive overall, I did whole lot and July was a good month. It’s looking like August could wind up being just as busy as July. We’ll see what happens though.

What books did you read this month? Did you read any of these? Was this month a good reading month for you or a sucky one? Let’s chat down in the comment section below.

4 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

    • I hope you enjoy it when you read it. The beginning is slow, and the different POVs does take some getting used too. I really enjoyed it. I think I went in knowing that there was going to be a second book, which helped in a way. From the reviews I read, people thought this was going to be something that it’s not and was let down by that. (Though, there is some ya romance in here. I know you’re not a big fan of that, so be prepared).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

