Adaptation Spotlight|To All the Boys I Loved Before & Ready Player One

Hey guys! Today I’m introducing a new feature on my blog I’m tentatively calling “Adaptation Spotlight.” I’ve been wanting to talk about book-to-movie and book-to-TV adaptations for a while now, but haven’t had the opportunity yet.

As much as I love books, movies and TV shows are kind of my thing. I was a Film Studies major in college, and dream of creating my own TV show one day. My background gives me a unique perspective on this whole adaptation thing, and I’ve been dying to talk about it. Adaptations are tricky, because you want it to stay true to the book but also be a good movie or TV show. However, what works in a book, is not always going to work for a TV show or a film. I want to dissect these adaptations and analyze them from all angles. I plan to do reviews, but I also want to talk about news and tell you all what’s coming.

I know that Epic Reads and Booksandlala do monthly videos about all of the adaptation news, but new things are announced are all the time. Every Friday I’m going to highlight one or two pieces of news regarding adaptations that I think are interesting and talk about it. This could range from casting choices, adaptation announcements, trailer releases, or movie/TV show premieres.

Enough talking about me and let’s get into the news!


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Will Be a Movie!

Jenny Han announced last week that To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is getting made into a movie! No seriously, this is happening, and we will be getting this film soon, maybe next year? Does anyone else feel like this came out of nowhere? The film is being produced by Awesomeness Films and they started production at the beginning of July in Vancouver. Lana Condor has been cast as Lara Jean. The movie will also star Noah Centineo (Peter Kavinsky), Janel Parrish (Margot), Anna Cathcart (Kitty), John Corbett (Dr. Covey), and Israel Broussard (Josh Sanderson).

Honestly, I’m ecstatic about this news! I loved the book so much and I think it would make a really cute film. I’m also all for seeing Asian American women in leading roles. We talk about diversity all the time in the book community, but movie and TV shows could be way more diverse than they are. There are too many things made about white men, and it’s frustrating. Also you rarely see Asian Americans in leading roles in Hollywood, so this is huge for that community.

I really hope that they do something cool with the Lara Jean’s letters. If you are unfamiliar with the book, it follows Lara Jean who keeps her love letters in a hatbox. One day they are mailed out and things get a little crazy. I feel like they could do some cool flashback scenes with these letters! Hopefully, the script is good and we get more information soon on when this will be released. I for one cannot wait!

Ready Player One Trailer Released!

 

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is a beloved book here in the book community. People are always talking about it and it is on my TBR. I’ve heard this book described as one for nerds as they make constant references to 80s pop culture. It is a dystopian novel that follows Wade Watts who lives in 2044. He spends most of his time in a virtual reality world called OASIS. He goes on an adventure trying to find the Easter Egg hidden in OASIS by the creator James Halliday. Halliday was obsessed with the 80s, hence all of the references.

The film is set to release on March 30th, 2018. A trailer was dropped at Comic Con and everyone is going nuts over it. To be honest, I’m feeling a little underwhelmed and watching it. For a book that is supposed to be all about 80s references, I was expecting the visuals of the virtual reality world to have a cooler style or at least be more imaginative. Sure, we got a ton of references, but OASIS just looks very generic. The Stacks (or the dystopian world Wade actually lives in) looks way cooler. I would much prefer to explore this weird dystopian world as opposed to OASIS, which is a major concern! OASIS should be way cooler than The Stacks.

Also the trailer lacks depth. The book sounds cool, meanwhile the trailer makes the movie look like your typical action movie. The only thing that sets it apart are the references (the Iron Giant, the DeLorean, Harley Quinn, etc.), but come off more gimmicky than ode to the 80s.

You’d think with Steven Spielberg directing this, it would be in good hands. However, I’m not sure how good this will end up being. I’m hoping that the trailer is extremely misleading and they are purposefully not showing a lot so you’re surprised when you see it. I also haven’t read the book, so maybe I’m completely missing something? Please let me know!


That’s all of news I want to talk about this week and I would love to hear your thoughts on these adaptations.

Are you excited for the film adaptation for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before? Would you like to see all three of Han’s books in this series be adapted? What did you think of the Ready Player One trailer? Are you excited for the film? Did you like what you saw in the trailer or not? Let’s talk about it in the comment section below. 

3 thoughts on “Adaptation Spotlight|To All the Boys I Loved Before & Ready Player One

    • I still have to read the final book in that series. I’m planning to do a re-read of the series, so I remember everything when I read the final book.

      I think it has the potential to be really good, and hopefully they managed to pull it off. We’ll just have to wait and see in March.

      Like

  1. […] month. I also should mention that I’ve officially introduced a new feature on my blog called Adaptation Spotlight. Basically, I’ll be highlighting some interesting pieces of news regarding book-to-film and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

