A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas — Review/Discussion

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Published: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 626

Goodness gracious, this was one hell of a book. I honestly was surprised at how much I enjoyed this epic novel and that I’ve fallen down the Rhysand hole. This review has been a long time coming, but I’ve finally sat down and typed up all of my thoughts.

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book in the ACOTAR series. If you have not read the first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses, please do not continue reading this post. I don’t want to accidentally spoil you. Come back after you’ve read at least the first book. If you’re curious to what I thought of the first book you can check out my review here.


SynopsisFeyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


I was not sure what to expect upon picking this sequel up. I had mixed feelings after finishing A Court of Thorns and Roses. On the one hand, I found the book to be extremely slow and was sort of meh on the romance. On the other, the last third was action packed and so exciting. I was going to pick up the sequel regardless because everyone and their mother is talking and raving about it. I also had questions and was curious to see where the story would go next. I’m actually so glad that I did because I really loved this book!

Thankfully it went in a direction that was similar to the last third of ACOTAR. There was a lot more action and politic intrigue, with some romance mixed in between. I really loved that Maas expanded on the world that she created and we got to explore it more. Seeing what life was like in the other courts was really cool and interesting.

I also loved the new characters so, so much. We definitely get a squad in this book, which I both appreciated and loved. I personally enjoy a good ensemble cast, and this book definitely gave me those vibes. Much more so than the first book. Maas also did such a good job at developing Feyre’s character. I grew to like her even more and loved watching her figure out her Faeness. Another thing I really appreciated character wise, was the fact that Feyre’s family are still a part of the story. I will get into this more later on in my review when we talk spoilers, but Nesta and Elain are two of my favorite characters. It was nice to see that they have not been forgotten!

There was very little I didn’t like about this book. The beginning is definitely on the slower side, but you just have to get through it. It is necessary to what comes later. Also, I thought that some of the reasoning for why characters knew things could have been handled better. Some of it just seemed too easy. This did not happen often though. I missed another thing, but I feel like even mentioning it will spoil some things.

Overall, this was an outstanding follow up to A Court of Thorns and Roses. To me it felt like I was reading a TV show in book form, because that’s how developed the story and character arcs were. Maas did incredible things with this novel and I cannot wait to read the sort-of finale to this series, A Court of Wings and Ruin.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars


SPOILERS BELOW
Please do not continue reading unless you have read the book.
You have been warned.


Alright if you’re reading this you’ve read the book. We need to talk, because it’s been like a month since I read this book and I still have ALL OF THE FEELS! That’s when you know the book has hooked you.

First things first, Rhysand. I am going to be honest, I was not his biggest fan when I read ACOTAR. I didn’t hate him or anything like that, but he wasn’t my favorite (not that Tamlin was my favorite either). However, I fell in love with him in this book. He is so sweet and vulnerable underneath the mask that he wears outside of Velaris. He just cares so much about his friends, Feyre, his people, and the world. It’s precious. Honestly, I think it is impossible not to fall in love with him when you read this book. I loved him. I loved his whole fucking court. One of the major strengths of this book is him and his friends.

That being said, I was not fully expecting the turn Tamlin’s character took. As I said before, I felt sort of meh on Tamlin in the previous book so I was okay with it. I actually thought that it made sense, because he clearly was still going through some MAJOR PTSD after what happened with Amarantha and was not dealing with it. It made him crazy along with his love for Feyre. I almost feel bad for him in a way because Ianthe manipulated him into the tragic mess that was the end of the book. Obviously, that doesn’t excuse the abusive/possessive things that he did. Some people now hate him (and I’m still not his biggest fan), but it was interesting to see his corruption. This is a man who was completed destroyed by what happened under the mountain and love. As much as I want to yell at him for all of the stupid things that he did, it was interesting. (I know it wasn’t cool what he did Rhys’s mother and all of that jazz, but again I think he was manipulated into doing bad things because he’s stupid).

Feyre compares Tamlin and Rhys in a lot of ways as she tries to work through her PTSD and feelings towards Rhys. I really enjoyed the comparison between Tamlin and Rhysand in regards to how they deal with love. They both are willing to go to the ends of the earth for Feyre because of their love for her, but did in completely different ways. Rhysand scarified so much for the people he loved and was willing to sacrifice a lot for her, while love made Tamlin even crazier and go out and start wars. It was an interesting look at what love can do to a person.

Next we need to talk about Lucian, who remains one of my favorite characters even though he was on the wrong side in this book. I was really disappointed that we did not get to see much of the snarky character I fell in love with in the previous book. I know some people are probably annoyed with him because he went along with Tamlin’s stupid and possessive plans. I mean I’m a little annoyed, but it is clear that he’s following orders and does not always agree. Tamlin is just this super powerful Fae that is sort of hard to defy, especially when he’s crazy. There is still hope for him or at least I’m still holding out for him, especially since Elain is apparently his mate! Um, what? WHO SAW THAT ONE COMING? NOT ME!

One of the things I’m not a huge fan of in the Fae worlds that Maas creates is this whole mate thing. I personally don’t believe in this idea of a soulmate or that there’s this one person out there that was made for you. I think there is more than person out there that you connect with and can love, it just depends on what you need and where you go with your life. That’s just how I feel, so this whole mate thing in her books doesn’t really vibe with me. Also, I feel like once someone has found their mate it sort of diminishes the other relationships/loves the person has had previously. Or at least that’s how it sort of feels in her books. I’ve always sort of wondered what happens if they die in her world and if it’s possible to sort of have two mates. Needless to say the fact that Elain is apparently Lucian’s mate (when his old mate died), is very interesting to me and I’m really looking forward to seeing how this plays out.

I still cannot believe that Nesta and Elain got turned into Fae. That scene where they are thrown into the cauldron was the most heartbreaking thing in this entire book. I’m pretty sure I cried or at least teared up. I’m so happy that they both came out alive though! I also really appreciate the fact that Elain is deemed a strong female character. Often times in Maas’s novels, the strong women are the ones that are physically fit and what you would think of as a “badass female.” There are definitely those characters in this series, but it’s nice to see other types of strong women represented (even if it’s small).

Moving on to our other humans that will most likely be Fae in the next book, those crazy fucking Mortal Queens. I can’t with them and they piss me off so much! It wasn’t a huge surprise that they were working with the King of Hybern, because they were super sketch. It really only made me hate them even more. I do like the addition of them thematically, because humans in this book have usually been portrayed as good people. Their fear of Fae is warranted as some of them kill and hate humans. In the Fae world we get a balance of “good” and “bad” people. That was never really a thing in the human world until these mother fucking queens turned up. I hate them, but they’re interesting.

If Maas knows how to do anything, she knows how to make a thrilling ending. I’m still not over it! So much crazy shit happened, but it also makes me really excited to read the sort-of conclusion to this series. I have SO many questions. Such as, what is this whole deal with Miryam and Jurian? What is going to become of crazy Tamlin? How is this whole spy Feyre thing gonna play out? Is Rhys gonna be okay? Is there something more between Nesta and Cassian? I mean there has to be! Why haven’t I started ACOWAR?

Again, this book really took this series to a whole other level and completely raised the bar. I’m unsure how Maas is going to top this, but I’m excited to see her try. Even though there are going to be more books set in this world, ACOWAR is the first finale we will see from Maas and I’m scared at how ruthless she will be. We will just have to wait and see.

What are your thoughts on A Court of Mist and Fury? Did you love it, hate it, or just think it was alright? What was your favorite part of the book? On a scale of 1 to 10, how in love with Rhysand are you? I’m at like 100. What are you most looking forward to in A Court of Wings and Ruin? Let me know all of your thoughts down below in the comment section. Obviously, please don’t leave spoilers for the next book if you have read it.

 

6 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas — Review/Discussion

  1. I totalllllllllllly agree, Becky, about this book. I had some major struggles with the first one (I literally DNF’d only to kind of be forced back to reading it a month later). But I’m so glad that you ended up enjoying this one! It was so much better for all the reasons you listed. Wonderful review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] #3) — Bella over at Bella Blogs  Because Books is just about to finish her re-read of A Court of Mist and Fury, which means that it is finally time for our buddy read! I’m so excited to dive into this […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

