Top Ten Books My Mom Thinks You Should Read

In honor of Mother’s Day, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is mom themed. My mom also loves to read (probably where I get it from), so I thought it would be a great idea to feature her in my Top Ten Tuesday post.

My mom, Linda, is one of the coolest people that I know. She is always up for adventure and loves movies, music, art, books, and theater. Currently, she is a part-time violin and piano teacher, and a blogger. Fun fact, she has been blogging longer than me! Her blog, Sharing Thanks, is all about gratitude and sharing what you’re thankful for. If that sounds like something up you’re ally, definitely check it out!

When coming up with a fun way to feature my awesome mom I realized that I had no idea what her favorite books are. I could guess maybe one or two, but it was something that I had never asked. So I asked her to come up a list of ten books she loves and would recommend. Here is what she came up with.

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and The Bookish.


1. The Dance of the Dissident Daughter by Sue Monk KiddThe dance of the dissident daughter

Linda: This is one of my favorite feminist books. A good description of sexism rooted in Western religions. I love her account of being awakened to feminism and searching for the goddess wisdom.

 

 

 

 


2. Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah by Richard BachIllusions

Linda: I liked this book because it plays with idea of talking to yourself at a different age and the wisdom we can learn from our past and future selves.

 

 

 

 


3. Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bachjonathan livingston seagull

Linda: This is one of my favorite books from high school that encourages everyone to strive to be the best you. I loved the joy the seagull derived from flying and achieving mastery through practice and remaining true to yourself.

 

 

 


4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. TolkienThe hobbit

Linda: I was a huge Tolkien fan in high school and college. I loved the imaginary worlds he created. I loved the wizardy of Gandalf and wanted to live in Lothlórien with the elves.

 

 

 

 


5. Lace by Shirley ConranLace

Linda: I enjoy light trashy summer reading sometimes. This was one of my old time favorites!

 

 

 

 


6. The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, The happiness projectClean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin

Linda: Love Gretchen Rubin’s monthly focused ideas for a happier more productive life!

 

 

 

 


7. The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameronthe artist's way

Linda: The Artist’s Way is a great read and offers some wonderful writing exercises to let your creativity sore. She recommends keeping a daily stream of conscience  journal where even if you don’t know what to write you write, “I don’t know what to write.” By doing this practice for a while you will gain insight and ideas will start to develop.

 

 


8. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilberteat pray love.jpg

Linda: I love Elizabeth Gilbert’s memoir of self discovery. Her newer book, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear, has some great ideas on how creative living can enhance your life.

 

 

 


9. 10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing 10 percent happierMy Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works by Dan Harris

Don’t we all want to be at least 10% Happier? This is a great read as Dan Harris has interviewed many self-help gurus over the years like Eckart Tolle, Deepak Chopra, and even the Dalai Lama. I enjoyed reading about how Dan Harris started practicing meditation. He has some great instructions in the appendix of his book about beginning a basic mindfulness meditation practice, as well as how to do walking meditation, and compassion meditation. I enjoyed trying some of his exercises.

 


10. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kalingis everyone hanging out without me

Linda: I loved reading about her passion for comedy growing up. Her honesty about the difficulties in starting out in a creative field rang true with me. My daughter Becky is a recent liberal arts film/theater/music major trying to find that first job.  True artists try to create while they are paying the bills and it is original creative work that gave Mindy Kaling her big break to be a writer for “The Office” I loved reading about her friendships and quirkiness.

 


My mom and I are so similar in a lot of ways, but it’s interesting to me there is little overlap with our favorite books. That being said there are definitely some books on here that I need to put on my TBR. Mindy Kaling’s book is actually already on my TBR. I think it’s been there for a while, but it’s jumped up after my mom gave me the book to me one year for Christmas.

Hope you enjoyed her list of favorites! Big thanks to her for coming up with it and being a guest on this post! Love ya mom. Let me know if you have read any of these books, would love to  know your opinions.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books My Mom Thinks You Should Read

  1. I haven’t thought about The Hobbit in years. I remember stealing it off the bookshelf outside my bedroom. It was one my mom bought for my dad as a present – gold edges and everything. I felt so smart. Great take on the topic.

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your take on the Top Ten this week! Of course my mom’s would be a bunch of Jack Kerouac, climbing Mt. Everest, and hiking to the point of nearly dying but not dying books. 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I had fun with this week’s. The “hiking to the point of nearly dying but not dying books” sounds like the kind my grandma reads. She does that hiking thing all the time 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

